Going Back To Basics Exercise 2

I’m sure some of you may be thinking, “These exercises look so simple, how in the world do they help me?”

Stretching has become my way of life.

Instead of a one hour practice a day… I practice with every waking breath. Practice doesn’t have to mean being on the mat doing Asanas (Poses), but it means incorporating self awareness into everything I do. Every second is an opportunity for me to lengthen and stretch my body.

IMG_5082

This is the Butterfly Pose (Badhakonasana) and it’s one of my favorite poses because it really helps me stretch out my hips. My right hip was higher than my left because the muscles on that area were so tight. When I first begun, I couldn’t bring my knees down this much!

How To Badhakonasana

  1. Sit up straight and tuck the tail bone in to engage the core
  2. Keep your spine long
  3. Bring your feet together and then open the feet up like pages of a book
  4. Allow your knees to fall to the sides naturally.

Over time, your body will open up on it’s own and the hips will relax. Remember to breathe deeply and allow the muscles to relax with every exhale 🙂

Are you all opened? If yes, then grab a block and place it between your feet to deepen the stretch! My good friend Sara Wee told me about this version ❤

IMG_5083

I do this really often and it’s helped lengthen my leg, groin, hip and back muscles quite significantly. If you suffer from Sciatica, please avoid this pose as it could aggravate the condition. I listen to my body and if something hurts, I stop immediately. If you want to try any of the poses I’ve mentioned, practice safely ❤

 

Love and Light,
Jessica

Leave a Reply

